I am WHAT?!?!?!

Me and Doug

Me and Doug

For those of you who don’t know my husband Doug and I and our family let me introduce ourselves. My name is Mollie, I love working with kids, enjoy laughing, and my favorite actor is Johnny Depp. My husbands name is Doug, he loves wrestling, comic books and memorabilia, and football. We have two dogs named Boogie (a shihtzu who is 9 months old) that loves to eat everything from cords, wood, sticks, shoes, squeakers from the squeaky toys, and playstation controllers AND another dog named Bubb or Moo Moo (a Japanese Chin who is 8 years old) who loves to eat human food, play with Boogie, and sleep all day.

Our entire family at our wedding January 6, 2012

Our entire family at our wedding January 6, 2012

And this is the story of our first big adventure since marriage…It all begins on a cool, calm evening in May 2012…

My husbands family had come over with steamed crabs to have dinner at our house. Once they had arrived I knew something wasn’t right because the smell of the crabs absolutely nauseated me. Initially my mother in law and sister in law joked that I was pregnant and I laughed it off. I responded saying “no way. i would bet money that I am not pregnant.” The smell proceeded to make me super sick to my stomach so I excused myself from the table and explained I had to leave the entire house so that I did not hurl on the table and ruin their dinner. I went to my mothers and told her about what was going on. She and I stayed at the house until the house had been rid of the crab smell. The next day I was due for a crime scene in my pants (funniest way to put such a terrible TERRIBLE curse upon all women kind). I felt empty and thought something was up. But because I had this type of situation before where I felt empty and was a day or two late, I waited to find out what would happen. A day or two later I told my husband Doug I was buying a pregnancy test because at this point I believed that if I took the test I would find out that I am not pregnant and get my monthly. When reading the box it stated to wait for the mornings pee because that is the most accurate (lovely so now I won’t get any sleep wondering if it would be positive or negative). So I let him know that next morning I was going to pee on a stick and send him the results since he was working and I was going to have to go to work as well. It was about 8am when I peed on the stick and watched the pee go through it. I was nervous but confident at the same time I was just late and this was just a fluke…and then I saw what no one expects to see when they aren’t trying but are leaving it up to God…TWO FREAKING LINES…

May 2012

May 2012 Pregnancy Test

sheer and immediate panic went into my body…I began talking to myself in the bathroom out loud stating this thing was lying and that it couldn’t be true…So I grabbed the second one from the box and peed again just to make sure…the same results..TWO MORE FREAKING LINES…at this point I knew I had to tell Doug. So my message went pretty much like this: “Oh s***” with the picture attached to it. I never cuss so I am pretty sure I had lost my mind. Doug received the message and immediately called me and said “Are you serious?” and I said “Yes.” And it was silent on the phone for minutes…neither one of us knew what to say to each other because we were still trying to process what had just happened. I don’t remember who said the first word after that but we both knew this was going to be the start of something adventurous…

Leave a comment